Walter Scott Prize 2018

Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world.  With a total value of £30,000, it is unique for rewarding writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past.

The Shortlist

The long-awaited novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author opens in Brooklyn during the Great Depression.

By Paul Lynch

An epic coming-of-age novel and a poetic evocation of the Irish famine as it has never been written.

Sugar Money
By Jane Harris

A tale of slavery and freedom, innocence and experience, love and despair set in the 18th century Caribbean.

The Wardrobe Mistress
By Patrick McGrath

A portrait of a woman struggling to make sense of her past and imagine a future in the seedy glamour of London’s theatrical world

The Gallows Pole
By Benjamin Myers

Eighteenth-century Yorkshire. A gang of weavers and land workers embark upon a criminal enterprise that will capsize the economy and become the biggest fraud in British history.

1940s rural England sets the scene for a multi-layered tale of an unlikely friendship.

The Longlist

A dark social-realist fairytale, spotlighting the shadowy underside of 1920s England.

April, 1947. In a run-down farmhouse on a remote Scottish island, George Orwell begins his last and greatest work: Nineteen Eighty-Four

Birdcage Walk
By Helen Dunmore

It is 1792, and Europe is seized by political turmoil and violence

The Draughtsman
By Robert Lautner

1944, Germany. A novel which shines a light on the complex contradictions of human nature and examines how deeply complicit we can become in the face of fear

An unexpected friendship between two children, set in Devon in 1911.

Set in the magical forests of South America in 1859

France, 1956. Bernie Gunther is on the run. The twelfth book in the renowned series