Man Booker Prize 2017

Congratulations George Saunders, this year's Man Booker Prize winner, announced 17th October.

The prize, which launched in 1969, aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English. To maintain the consistent excellence of The Man Booker Prize, judges are chosen from a wide range of disciplines, including critics, writers and academics, but also poets, politicians and actors, all with a passion for quality fiction. The winner of The Man Booker Prize receives £50,000 and, like all the shortlisted authors, a cheque for £2,500 and a designer bound copy of their book. 

The Shortlist

4 3 2 1
By Paul Auster
By Ali Smith
Exit West
By Mohsin Hamid
History of Wolves
By Emily Fridlund

The Longlist

Reservoir 13
By Jon McGregor
Days Without End
By Sebastian Barry