The CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017

Widely regarded as the greatest of all accolades available to a children's writer or illustrator, the annually awarded Medals are unique in that they are judged solely by librarians. First awarded in 1937, the roll-call of past winners from the Carnegie Medal include: Arthur Ransome, C.S. Lewis, Terry Pratchett, Philip Pullman, Noel Streatfield, Meg Rosoff and Penelope Lively.

The Winner

The Shortlist