English Pen Ackerley Prize 2017

The PEN Ackerley Prize was established in memory of Joe Randolph Ackerley (1896-1967), the author and long-time literary editor of The Listener magazine. The prize is awarded annually to a literary autobiography of outstanding merit, written by an author of British nationality and published in the UK in the previous year.

The Shortlist

This is the Place to Be
By Lara Pawson
All at Sea
By Decca Aitkenhead
The Outrun
By Amy Liptrot