The Desmond Elliott Prize 2017

The winner Francis Spufford was announced 21st June in London. The Prize supports new writers and celebrates their fiction. It was created in memory of the charismatic publisher and literary agent Desmond Elliott, who died in August 2003. He stipulated that his estate should be invested in a charitable trust that would fund a literary award “to enrich the careers of new writers”. Now in its 10th year, this prize is recognised for celebrating dazzling debuts.

The Winner - Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

The Shortlist

Golden Hill
By Francis Spufford
Harmless Like You
By Rowan Hisayo Buchanan
My Name Is Leon
By Kit de Waal

The Longlist

The Sacred Combe
By Thomas Maloney
Forbidden Line
By Paul Stanbridge
By Alan McMonagle
The Transition
By Luke Kennard
Montpelier Parade
By Karl Geary
Little Deaths
By Emma Flint