The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction

The longlist was announced on 8th March 2017, International Women's Day. One of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, the BAILEYS Women’s Prize for Fiction – previously known as the Orange Prize for Fiction – celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.

The Longlist

The Gustav Sonata
By Rose Tremain
First Love
By Gwendoline Riley
By Annie Proulx
Do Not Say We Have Nothing
By Madeleine Thien
The Essex Serpent
By Sarah Perry
The Woman Next Door
By Yewande Omotoso
The Sport of Kings
By C. E. Morgan
The Lonely Hearts Hotel
By Heather O'Neill
By Fiona Melrose
The Dark Circle
By Linda Grant
The Mare
By Mary Gaitskill
The Lesser Bohemians
By Eimear McBride
Little Deaths
By Emma Flint
The Power
By Naomi Alderman
Stay With Me
By Ayobami Adebayo