Walter Scott Prize 2017 Longlist Announced

Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world.  With a total value of £30,000, it is unique for rewarding writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past.

Days Without End
By Sebastian Barry
Crane Pond
By Richard Francis
The Noise of Time
By Julian Barnes
The Dark Circle
By Linda Grant
The Good People
By Hannah Kent
Minds of Winter
By Ed O Loughlin
The Vanishing Futurist
By Charlotte Hobson
Mothering Sunday
By Graham Swift
The Essex Serpent
By Sarah Perry
Golden Hill
By Francis Spufford
The Gustav Sonata
By Rose Tremain