Costa Book Prize Winners 2016

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres. The 2016 winners were announced on 31st January 2017 in London.

Costa Biography Award Winner

Dadland by Keggie Carew

Costa Novel Award Winner

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Costa First Novel Award Winner

Golden Hill by Francis Spufford

Golden Hill
By Francis Spufford

Children's Book Award Winner

The Bombs that Brought Us by Brian Conaghan

Costa Poetry Award Winner

Falling Awake by Alice Oswald

Falling Awake
By Alice Oswald