Gordon Burn Prize 2017

The Gordon Burn Prize, run in partnership by the Gordon Burn Trust, New Writing North, Faber & Faber and Durham Book Festival, seeks to celebrate the work of those who follow in his footsteps: novels which dare to enter history and interrogate the past; non-fiction adventurous enough to inhabit characters and events to create a new and vivid realities.

The Winner

The Long Drop
By Denise Mina

The Shortlist

First Love
By Gwendoline Riley
This Is Memorial Device
By David Keenan
This is the Place to Be
By Lara Pawson

The Longlist